11th International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics

12 - 21 November 2017, Phuket, THAILAND


The first IOAA was held in the city of Chiang Mai, Thailand, from November 30 to December 9 of 2007, to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the King Bhumibol Adulyadej and the 84th anniversary of the Princess Galyani Vadhana. 21 countries which were Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, China, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, South Korea, Laos, Lithuania, Myanmar, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Ukraine participated the first IOAA. The international board also elected, for a five-year term, a President (Assoc. Prof. Boonrucksar Soonthornthum, Thailand) and a General Secretary (Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chatief Kunjaya, Indonesia).

The second IOAA was held in 2008, August 19 to 28, in the city of Bandung, Indonesia, having the participation of 22 countries, including a team from Cambodia and an observer from Malaysia.

The third IOAA was held in 2009, October 17 to 27, in the capital Tehran, Iran. The observational exam was held in the desert, in the Caravanserai of Deh Namak. 20 countries participated the competition including the first time participation for Kazakhstan and Serbia.

The fourth IOAA was held in 2010, September 12 to 21, in the capital Beijing, China. One-hundred fourteen competitors attended, coming from 23 countries including the first time participation for Czech Republic, Philippines and Russia.

The fifth IOAA was held in 2011, August 25 to September 4, around the cities of Katowice, Chorzow and Krakaw, Poland. This was the first IOAA held in Europe. The participants came from 26 countries, including the first time coming for Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Hungary and Portugal. In Poland, the International Board elected a new President, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chatief Kunjaya, Indonesia, and a General Secretary, Dr. Greg Stachowski, Poland. They also indicated two Regional Coordinators, (Dr. Thais Mothe Diniz, Brazil, for Americas and Dr. Aniket Sule, India, for Asia and Pacific)

The sixth IOAA was held in 2012, August 4 to 13, at Rio de Janeiro and Vassouras, Brazil. The first time IOAA was held in South America. The participants came from 28 countries.

The seventh IOAA was held from 27 July to 4 August 2013 in Volos, Greece. Total 39 teams from 35 countries participated in the event. These included first time for teams from USA, New Zealand, Canada, Malaysia, Armenia, Slovenia, Macedonia and Cyprus.

The eighth IOAA was held from August 1 to 11, 2014 in Suceava and Gura Humorului, Romania. Total 42 teams from 37 countries participated in the event. These included first time for teams from Mexico, Pakistan, Nepal, Moldova and Montenegro.

The ninth IOAA was held from 26th July to 4th August 2015. Total 46 teams from 41 countries participated in the event. These included first time teams from Estonia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan and United Kingdom. In addition, observers from Sweden and Qatar attended the IOAA.

The tenth IOAA was held in Bhubaneswar, India from December 9 to 19, 2016. Total of 48 teams from 42 countries participated in the event.